Web FSS MU Graduate Program in Sociology FSS

Phone: +420 549 491 914

Partner Universities

Our Partners in the Joint Degree Program

Karl-Franzens-University Graz, Austria

Graz _logo
The University of Graz is one of the largest institutions of higher education in Austria. With more than 30,000 students and 3,800 employees, it makes an essential contribution to the vibrant life of the Styrian capital. Diversity and a wide scope characterise the education programmes at the six faculties. Students can choose from more than 100 bachelor, master and diploma programmes. Graz University has close ties with more than 500 universities worldwide which form the basis for the mobility of students, faculty and staff as well as numerous joint projects in teaching and research.

Founded in 1585
30.000 students
3.800 staff

Department of Sociology

The Joint Masters Degree is strongly connected to two of the core research areas of the University of Graz “Heterogeneity and Cohesion” and “The Cultural History of Europe and Its Historical and Current Understanding”. The sociological analysis of culture is an important research topic inside these core research areas, because processes of social integration and exclusion can only be understood properly if cultural phenomena are taken into account. The principle of the Joint Masters Degree to connect research and teaching is secured by this interconnection with the core research areas.

When choosing Graz as your entrance university you need to provide proof of German proficiency on the level C 1.


University of Trento, Italy

Trento _logo
The University of Trento is a high ranking higher institution, in particular for the quality of its research and teaching activities. It was founded in 1962 and it consists of about 16.000 enrolled students, 563 (academic staff) and 656 (administrative staff) people. Its international dimension allowed a very high position in Italian (Censis, Il Sole 24Ore) and international (THES) rankings. It has 7 Faculties, ranging from Social Sciences to Information Technologies, from Law to New technologies, from Humanities to Economics. Its research activities are carried out in 13 Departments, among which CIMeC – Center for Mind and Brain Sciences; CoSBi – Microsoft Research – University of Trento Centre for Computational and Systems Biology; CIBIO – Center for Integrated Biology).

Founded in 1962
16 327 students
1219 staff

The University of Trento participates with success to the research activities within the VII FP. It is also deeply engaged in International teaching programmes (LLP-Erasmus, LLP-Leonardo, Erasmus Mundus, EM-ECW, Tempus); and has re – known International Ph.D. and double degree programmes for all faculties and departments.


University of Zadar, Croatia

Zadar _logo
Zadar is an ancient European university city. As early as on 14 June 1396 in Dominican monastery in Zadar the university Studium generale, later called Universitas Jadertina was founded. The University of Zadar is the largest fully integrated university in Croatia. There is a total of 5800 students enrolled in the undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate and doctoral studies. There are 515 employees at the University, 365 of them holding scientific- teaching, teaching and assistant titles. Two companies with 32 employees are also part of the University.

The University of Zadar, ranked as a mid-sized university in the European environment, in many aspects of the higher education reform and harmonization with the EU member states is a leader in Croatia. The County and City of Zadar regularly support the activities of the University: the organization of congresses, round tables, scientific conferences and symposia.

The Department of Sociology

The instruction of sociology at what now is the University of Zadar was first offered as part of the philosophy curriculum. A fully-fledged department of sociology was established in 1977, and was especially noted for its research activity in the field of sociology of religion. In the late 1990s and at the turn of the century there followed intense research activity in the fields of sociology of youth, women and lifestyles. In the year 2005 the Bologna-reformed curriculum took effect, with a 3-year baccalaureate and a 2-year graduate study program. The degrees are offered as so-called double major degrees, meaning that in addition to a sociology degree, graduates are also awarded a degree in their second subject of study in the humanities or social sciences. In the academic year 2010/2011, a third cycle (doctoral) program in Sociology of Regional and Local Development was launched as a joint degree with the University of Teramo (Italy).

There are currently 170 students (110 undergraduate, 52 graduate, 8 postgraduate) enrolled at the Department, and they are taught by 17 full-time and 2 part-time faculty.

The department is research-oriented but at the same time student-centered. Classes are small (up to 20 participants in the seminar groups and up to 14 in the laboratory work), the teachers are accessible, and consultation hours for individual students and small groups are intense. An effort is made to integrate the results and methods of recent research already at the undergraduate level.